, also known as Dvāravatī (Sanskrit “the many-gated [city]”) is a sacred city in Hinduism, Jainism and Buddhism. The name Dvārakā is said to have been given to the place by the Hindu god Krishna.[2] Dvārakā is one of the Sapta Puri (seven sacred cities) of Hinduism.[3]

In the Mahabharata, it was an island city located near present day Gujarat, formerly called Kushasthali, the fort of which had to be repaired by the Yadavas.[4] In this epic, the city is described as a capital of the Anarta Kingdom. According to the Harivamsa the city was located in the region of the Sindhu Kingdom.[5]

In the Gocharya ji krit “Krishnacharitmanas” out of 3 parts, two parts are Dwariki Krishna (Part-2) & Part 3.

In the Hindu epics and the Vaishnava Puranas, Dvārakā is called Dvaravati and is one of seven Tirtha (pilgrimage) sites for spiritual liberation. The other six are Mathura, Ayodhya, Kashi, Kanchipuram, Avantika (Ujjain) and Puri.[